Drive-By Truckers sign to ATO for 9th studio album, set for March release

It’s still not exactly clear what happened between the Drive-By Truckers and New West Records, the band’s label home since a falling out with Lost Highway in 2002. Whatever it was, the Truckers didn’t hide their displeasure, stenciling “FNW” — “Fuck New West” — on their instruments for some shows in 2008.

All that’s over now: The band this morning announced that it has signed with ATO Records, Dave Matthews’ RCA imprint, for the release of its ninth studio album, “The Big To-Do,” which is due March 16.

“It’s very much a rock album,” head Trucker Patterson Hood says in a press release. “Very melodic and more rocking than anything we’ve done since disc 2 of ‘Southern Rock Opera.'”

Hood and singer/guitarist Mike Cooley wrote most of the songs, with bassist Shonna Tucker contributing a pair of tunes.

Here’s the track listing:
1. Daddy Learned to Fly
2. The Fourth Night of My Drinking
3. Birthday Boy
4. Drag the Lake Charlie
5. The Wig He Made Her Wear
6. You Got Another
7. This Fucking Job
8. Get Downtown
9. After the Scene Dies
10. (It’s Gonna Be) I Told You So
11. Santa Fe
12. The Flying Wallendas
13. Eyes Like Glue
14. Girls Who Smoke (Bonus track – vinyl only)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *