Of Montreal gives away first single from new LP, 'False Priest,' due in September

It’s a milestone: Of Montreal releases its 10th album, “False Priest,” Sept. 14 on Polyvinyl.

The record, co-produced by Of Montreal front man Kevin Barnes and the eminently tasteful Jon Brion (of Aimee Mann, Rufus Wainwright and Kanye West renown), boasts 13 new songs, including two with Janelle Monáe and one with Solange Knowles.

First single “Coquet Coquette” features neither, but that doesn’t change the fact that it’s a lush danceable pop number, with pulsing bass, thick electric guitar riffs and a dense haze of synthesizers billowing in and out. It’s hypnotic in its way, and a tantalizing hint of what the new record sounds like.

You can download it here in exchange for your e-mail address, or not.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *