New Son Volt Album 'Honky Tonk' Due in March

Photo by Spring Waugh

Son Volt returns March 5 with “Honky Tonk,” a collection on Rounder of 11 new songs inspired by the sound of Bakersfield-style country music. The new album, Son Volt’s first since “American Central Dust” in 2009, is said to continue a move toward acoustic-based songs that also reflect bandleader Jay Farrar’s declining reluctance to write songs about love and heartache. “I was always averse to using certain words in songs, including ‘love’ and ‘heart,'” Farrar says in a press release. “But I started using them on ‘American Central Dust,’ and now I guess the floodgates have opened.”

A tour will follow the album, but that’s not the only thing Farrar has simmering: he also releases his first book, the “impressionistic memoir” “Falling Cars and Junkyard Dogs,” due in March from Counterpoint Press.

Here’s the track listing for “Honky Tonk”:

1.    Hearts and Minds
2.    Brick Walls
3.    Wild Side
4.    Down the Highway
5.    Bakersfield
6.    Livin’ On
7.    Tears of Change
8.    Angel of the Blues
9.    Seawall
10.  Barricades
11.  Shine On

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *